Home Sitemap Mail Contact Us

         UPCL at a Glance

Uttar Pradesh State Electricity Board (UPSEB), was constituted on 1st April 1959. On 14th January, 2000 the Generation, Transmission & Distribution functions of UPSEB have been transferred to the following three legal entities (Corporations registered under Indian Companies Act, 1956) based on functional specialization, namely-
  • Uttar Pradesh Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Limited (UPRVUNL) which owns and operates the existing Thermal Power Stations of UPSEB.
  • Uttar Pradesh Jal Vidyut Nigam Limited (UPJVNL) which in addition to their own Small Hydro Power Stations owns and operates the existing and under construction hydro power stations of UPSEB; and
  • Uttar Pradesh Power Corporation Limited(UPPCL), which is responsible for Transmission and Distribution of electricity in Uttar Pradesh.
  • UPCL de-merged from UPPCL (erstwhile as constituent of UPSEB) came into existence on 12th February 2001 with an existing Sub-Transmission & Distribution (ST&D) Infrastructure in the State of Uttaranchal de-merged from Uttar Pradesh comprising of 7 Substations of 66/11 KV 58.5 MVA, 137 Substations of 33/11 KV 776 MVA and 20728 Substations of 11/0.4 KV 1220 MVA inter-connected with Lines of length 248.5 Km of 66 KV , 2389 Km of 33 KV, 21576 Km of 11 KV and 32617 Km of LT covering the ST&D Network State-wide.
  • The Company also operated & maintained since 2001 the existing Transmission System Infrastructure till the formation of the sole State Transmission Utility- Power Transmission Corporation of Uttaranchal Ltd. (PTCUL) on 1st June 2004.
  • Uttaranchal was re-named as UTTARAKHAND on 1st January 2007 with UPCL & PTCUL as the functional bi-furcated Utilities responsible for the Electricity Distribution & Power Transmission within the periphery of State.Today, the Company operates & maintains 5 Substations of 66/33/11 KV (56 MVA), 272 Substations of 33/11 KV (capacity 2463 MVA) and 49146 Distribution Substations of 11/0.4 KV of 2654 MVA capacity with a Sub-Transmission & Distribution System Network of 212 Km (66 KV),4152 Km (33 KV), 34812 Km (11 KV) lines and 50543 Km LT Lines spread across the State periphery.
  • The Company with a 4500 Human Capital Workforce is committed to provide 24X7 High Reliability and Quality Power Supply to 1.59 million electricity consumers spread across the 13 Districts in the State of Uttarakhand viz. Dehradun, Uttarkashi, Pauri, Tehri, Chamoli, Rudraprayag, Haridwar, Nainital, U.S.Nagar, Almora, Bageshwar, Pithoragarh & Champawat respectively.
  • UPCL aims to reduce the AT&C Losses of the Company to 20% by March 2013 and envisage further reduction below 10% under Vision 2020 of the State Government.

31 Towns with the resident population above 10,000 were identified under the Re-structured Accelerated Power Development & Reforms Programme (R-APDRP) launched by the Ministry of Power, Government of India aimed at reduction of the State-wide AT&C Losses to below 15% by way of Strengthening of the Electricity Distribution System & System Improvements, New Technology & IT Initiatives and 3600 Distribution System Automation etc.

For implementation of Part-A of the R-APDRP Project, a loan amount of 125.82 Crores sanctioned with 37.6 Crores to be borne by UPCL totaling to 163.42 Crores for utilization in the project aimed to reduction of the AT&C Losses in the respective 31 identified towns of Uttarakhand.
SN Report
Present Status and Yearwise achievements of UPCL
District-wise Details of existing Electricity Distribution Infrastructure of
This website is best viewed at a resolution of 1024 X 768, and Internet Explorer 7.x or higher.

Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Contact Us | Feedback | Admin
© 2012 Uttarakhand Power Corporation Limited . All Rights Reserved.
Powered by Phoenix IT Solutions Ltd. | mPower™ WSS